Earlier this week Downing Street announced that seven members of the House of Lords are to become members of the Privy Council: the Conservative Chief Whip in the Lords, Baroness Anelay; the Liberal Democrat Chief Whip in the Lords, Lord Shutt; the Convenor of the Cross-Bench Peers, Baroness D’Souza; and four Labour colleagues.  Three of the Labour colleagues are Ministers: Philip Hunt (the extremely able and popular Deputy Leader of the House of Lords); Ara Darzi (the part-time surgeon and Health Minister); and Shriti Vadera (Minister in the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills and in the Cabinet Office).  The final appointment is Swraj Paul, the industrialist and patron of London Zoo.

  • Print
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn